Award ceremony Sunday, May 20, 2012 at the Museum of Wisconsin Art (MWA) in West Bend, WI


WVALAA 2012 Wisconsin Visual Art Lifetime Achievement Awards (WVALAA) will be Sunday, May 20, 2012 at the Museum of Wisconsin Art (MWA) in West Bend, WI. The program starts at 1:30 with guest speaker Tom Jones, assistant professor of photography at UW- Madison. His talk is “People of the Big Voice: A Personal View.” Following the talk will be the WVALAA presentations. The public is welcome. There will be a reception following the presentations in the MWA front gallery.
WVALAA was founded in 2004 as a collaboration between the MWA, Wisconsin Visual Artists (WVA), and the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters, the Awards are essentially the in-state “Hall of Fame” for individuals, groups and organizations who have supported the visual arts with distinction. The 2012 WVALAA co- chairs are Graeme Reid from MWA, Randall Brendt from the Wisconsin Academy, and Christine Style from WVA. The WVALAA selection committee consisted of 15 Wisconsin art professionals. The 2012 WVALAA was made possible with financial support from the three WVA chapters, ABEA (African American Artists Beginning to Educate Americans About African-American Art), AC Art Association and the League of Milwaukee Artists, along with support from the Museum of Wisconsin Art, the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts, and Letters, and individual donors. To learn more about WVALAA visit their website: The WVALAA website will be getting a new look hopefully in time for the May 20 event.
The 2012 WVALAA honorees include: Kent Anderson, Prophet William Blackmon, Johnson Boyd, Fred Fenster, Denis Kitchen, Norbert Kox, Frances Meyers, Native American Petroglyphs, Simon Sparrow, Jean Stamsta, Tony Rajer (WVA member), Evelyn Patricia Terry (WVA member), William Weege.
WVA congratulates the honorees & their families.