2014 Wisconsin Artists Biennial

Museum of Wisconsin Art
205 Veterans Ave.
West Bend, WI 53095
January 17 - March 9, 2014
Reception Friday, January 17, 2014 4 to 8 p.m.
The opening of the Wisconsin Artists Biennial, 2014 at the new Museum of Wisconsin Art, MOWA, was a huge success. Hundreds of people came out on a snowy evening to join in the festivities of the evening. Appetizers, champagne, cash bar and background music provided additional ambiance to a great exhibit and appreciative audience. It was a festive occasion.

Download the 2014biennial_catalogue.pdf

Award winners were as follows:
Best of Show: $1000 / Dean Valadez /Frolicklegs, wood, bolts, fabric, clothing; box.
•First Place: $750 / Tiffany Knopow / Cutting Board 406A; Back; intaglio
•Second Place $500 / William Wenner / Eigengrau; oil on canvas
•Third Place: $250 / Jean Judd / Rusted Lace #2; thread on hand dyed, rust pigmented textile
•Merit Award #1: $150 / Mark Truesdell / Enterprise Content Management; sculpture, Jack Richeson & Co / Merchandise Award
•Merit Award #2: $125 / Kathleen Hawkes / Robin Egg (Submerged), inkjet print,
Jack Richeson & Co / Merchandise Award
•Merit Award #3: $125 / Warrington Colescott / Argonauts Reach California; watercolor painting, Jack Richeson & Co / Merchandise Award
•Merit Award #4: $100 / Joseph Boblick / Oh Fish; oil on panel, Artist and Display / Merchandise Award

The Wisconsin Artists Biennial is one of the most exciting exhibitions sponsored by the Wisconsin Visual Artists. The commitment by WVA to highlight artistic excellence throughout the state has been a trademark of WVA since its existence in 1900. This year exhibiting the art at the new Museum of Wisconsin Art added to the excitement of this event. It is the first statewide art show of Wisconsin artists exhibited in this new building.
The Biennial was open to include artists statewide and all art forms including time-based, multi media art. It was exciting to see the high quality and breadth of art entered in this exhibition. Wisconsin has a strong art base producing works that are highly creative. We can be very proud of our artists. An attempt was made to engage artists who create film and media to enter this show. We had very few entries in this area and none were juried into the exhibition. Perhaps the next Biennial will prove differently to reflect more 21st century art forms.
We did not print a prospectus of this exhibition but rather posted it on the WVA website. Additional publicity to inform artists across the state was sent out repeatedly via e-mail and other well known art web sites. MOWA also posted information on their website and distributed other information. We felt that it was important to be environmentally responsible and go paperless when possible.
Two hundred fifty two artists responded to the call for entries. The juror, Molly Zuckerman Hartung, a Chicago artist and art educator at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, was very capable in viewing and selected works for the show. The entries were juried via digital images and the awards were selected from the works of art at the museum site. Molly selected 53 artists’ art works: nine 3-D and forty-four 2-D art works. The work is exhibited in the main exhibition gallery of MOWA.

Special thanks to all the donors who provided funds for this Biennial:
$1000 - $2000
•The Meyer and Norma Ragir Foundation Catherine B. Stayer
•South East Chapter of WVA
$250 - $500
•Richard Weeling
•Becker Ritter Funeral Home
•South Central Chapter of WVA
•North East Chapter of WVA
Art Galleries/Art Businesses:
•Art & Soul Gallery, 5708 W Vliet Street, Milwaukee, WI 53208, 414-774-4185,
•Artist and Display, 9015 W Burleigh Street, Milwaukee, WI 53222, 414-442-9100,
•Elaine Erickson Gallery, Marshall Building, 207 E Buffalo Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202, 414-221-0613,
•Jack Richeson & Co. Inc, 557 Marcella Street, Kimberly, WI 54136, 920-738-0744,
•Janus Galleries, 2071 Monroe Street, Madison, WI 53711, 608-271-2222, 608-233-2222
•Miller Art Museum, 107 S Fourth Ave., Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235, 920-746-0707,
•New Visions Art Gallery, Marshfield Clinic, 1000 N Oak Avenue, Marshfield, WI, 54449, 715-387-5562,
•River’s End Galleries, 380 W Main Street, Waukesha, WI 53186, 262-896-8875, and Village Court, 890 Elm Grove Road, Elm Grove, WI 53122, 262- 780-1191,
•THE Fine Art Gallery, Marshall Building, 207 E Buffalo Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202, 414- 688-2787,
•The Flying Pig Gallery & Greenspace, N6975 Wisconsin 42, Algoma, WI 54201, 920-487- 9902,
•Timothy Cobb Fine Arts Gallery, Marshall Building, 207 E Buffalo Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202. 414-255-8166,
•Walker’s Point Center for the Arts, 839 S 5th Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204, 414-672-2787,
•Wild Apple Glass Studio & Gallery, 210 Main Street, Menasha, WI 54952, 920-886-6636,

Also, thanks to Molly Zuckerman Hartung, juror of the art; Laurie Winter, Director and CEO, MOWA; Graeme Reid, director of collections and exhibitions, MOWA; and Brittani Mattke, Marketing Director, MOWA, and their staff, for working in collaboration with us to produce this exhibition. Thanks to the WVA Chapters for their support and encouragement; Chris Style, President of WVA, David Sear, 2011 Biennial chair, and Tom Pscheid and Holley Bakich, Biennial committee members, for working diligently with us to make this Biennial 2014 a success. A special thanks to Gene Mihleisen, my co-chair, for designing the Prospectus and catalogue.
Virgi Driscoll, Chair
Gene Mihleisen, Co-chair

The Biennial concluded on March 9, 2014 at the Museum of Wisconsin Art in West Bend.

The artists selected for the 2014 Biennial:
The Wisconsin Artists Biennial is one of the most exciting exhibitions sponsored by the Wisconsin Visual Artists. The commitment by WVA to highlight artistic excellence throughout the state has been a trademark of WVA since
Amy Arntson Stephanie Barenz Trenton Baylor Fred Bell
Jerrold Belland
Tom Berenz
Tim Black
Joseph Boblick
Nora Boedeker
Kay Brathol-Hostvet
Marna Brauner
Kendra Bulgrin
Wendy Carpenter J
oseph Church
Warrington Colescott
Brent Crabb
Maureen Fritchen
Aris Georgiades
Robert Gorder
Kathleen Hawkes
Pat Hidson
Bruce Humphries
Jean M. Judd
Lee Ann Kleeman
Tiffany Knopow
Philip Krejcarek
Nancy Lamers
Jim Liedtke
Marie May
Flavio Martín Morante
Bethann Moran
Vera Nikiforov
Sandra Pape
Janet Roberts
Katherine Rosing
Larry Sanders
Vera Scekic
Gail Simpson
Marian (Ian) Sonsyadek
Marta Spendowska Alison Stehlik
Jeff Stern
Karen Stewart
Ney Tait Fraser
Richard Taylor
Mark Truesdell
Dean Valadez
Shane Walsh
Kathryn Wedge
William Wenner
Chuck Wickler
Sara Willadsen
William Zuback

Past Biennials



2011 Wisconsin Artists Biennial


2009 Wisconsin Artists Biennial in Manitowoc


Wisconsin Artists Biennial 2007


Works by Award Winners From the Wisconsin Artists Biennial


2007 Biennial Update






Juror’s statement - 2005 Wisconsin Artists Biennial




Award Winners from the WP&S 2005 Wisconsin Artists Biennial


Award Winners from the WP&S 2003 Wisconsin Artists Biennial


Artists and artworks from the WP&S 2003 Wisconsin Artists Biennial


JUROR’S STATEMENT for the WP&S Wisconsin Artist’s Biennial


2000 Wisconsin artist's biennial