After a successful 10 years of operating as Wisconsin Visual Arts Lifetime Achievement Award it has been decided that
  1. WVALAA will become WVAAA - Wisconsin Visual Arts Achievement Awards. We are dropping the 'L for Lifetime' .
  2. MOWA (Museum of Wisconsin Art) in West Bend, WI will be the permanent home for WVAAA;
  3. the WVAAA nomination process will soon be available as a 'Nomination Form' allowing anyone to nominate a deserving artist, art educator, art instatution/venue or supporter of the visual arts for this award.

Beginning in 2015, the Wisconsin Visual Art Lifetime Achievement Awards will be known as the Wisconsin Visual Art Achievement Awards - the word "lifetime" will be dropped. The use of the word "lifetime" in the past has implied that the recipient is at the end, or at the very least, the twilight of their career and that their best accomplishments have been achieved. Clearly, a number of awards have been given posthumously and the lifetime appellation was appropriate. This is, however, not the case for many of the recipients. By renaming the program to the Wisconsin Visual Art Achievement Awards, it gives the organization more flexibility and a more appropriate way of honoring deserving individuals - without the implication that they are at the end of their careers. That is, however, not to say that deserving individuals who have completed a career will not be honored, they will.

Wisconsin Visual Arts Achievement Awards : Website of the Wisconsin Visual Arts Achievement Awards

Co sponsors of Wisconsin Visual Art Achivement Awards

- Wisconsin Visual Artists
- The Museum of Wisconsin Art
- The Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters

Wisconsin Visual Art Achievement Awards (WVAAA)

All are invited to celebrate the presentations on Sunday, May 24, 2015 at MOWA in West Bend at 2:00pm. The guest speaker is Barbara Brown Lee, chief Educator Emeritus at the Milwaukee Art Museum followed by the presentations of awards to the 2015 honorees: David Frances Barry, Bob Brue, Lois Ehlert, Josephus Farmer, SIster Thomasina Fessler, Marshall Glasier, Dudley Huppler, Lois Ireland, Kohler foundation, Incl, Walter Nottingham, JoAnna Poehlmann and J. Shimon & J. Lindemann. Visit to find out more.
WVA is one of the co-sponsors for this event along with the Academy of Arts & Sciences James Watrous Gallery and MOWA. There is a 15 member selection committee who select honorees from the list of nomination each year. Anyone may nominate a visual artist, arts group, or place. Look for the online application process on the wvaaa website soon.